Yarn Along

If you love knitting and reading and having a peek into what others are doing, then head on over to Ginny’s marvellous blog, Small Things, and check out all the wonderful Yarn Along posts for this week.


I am currently knitting a simple jumper for myself out of 10ply as I keep forgetting how cold it gets in my office during the winter.  The wool is Bendigo Luxury in Lake and it knitting up well.  The jumper is just a simple raglan, pieced and then sewn together.  I hope to have it finished this week before the utterly bitter winter sets in.  Of course with colder weather comes darker days and nothing appeals to the Scot in me like scary stories and to sate that need I am currently reading Witches, Ghosts and Signs: Folklore of the Southern Appalachians by Patrick W. Gainer.  It is a fun read, especially as he has kept the language as original as possible.  When I was a child spooky stories during the winter was a great tradition in our family and my Grandfather had a whole bundle of tales that would make your hair stand on end. Some of the stories told in this book are in a similar vein and so it has been a fun read.    

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Ellie-Mae says:

    I want to move to the Southern Appalachians. Love your work.

  2. steph says:

    spooky stories on cold winter nights!!!! what fun to think about…..since I'm not terribly far from those southern appalachians, need to add this to my 'list' for our winter reading!!!! I'm dreaming of winter—-these 90 degree days are killing me already!

  3. Fun! That sounds like a great tradition. 🙂 Your jumper is coming along nicely. I love the color!
    ~Liz

  4. karen says:

    I hope you do meet your goal and you are wearing that lovely sweater in your office!! Great color!

Leave a Reply

