Yarn Along and Matjana Preschool Water Fundraiser

If you love knitting and reading and having a peek into what others are doing, then head on over to Ginny’s marvelous blog, Small Things, and check out all the wonderful Yarn Along posts for this week.



This week I have two vastly different books that I am reading.  “Amish Peace” by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a lovely book that gives an insight into the Amish way of life and focuses on many aspects including Simplicity, Time, Community and Forgiveness with a scattering of their Proverbs.  The second book is “The Yowie: In Search of Australia’s Bigfoot” by Tony Healy and Paul Cropper, this is an interesting book and the authors have done a marvelous job in documenting cases, providing theories and giving a honest review of the Yowie.  I am a dag, this is my second reading of the book and I am thoroughly enjoying it.  Do I believe though?  I am in two minds about it all.


Of course that now brings us to the knitting.  No one will be surprised when I say I am knitting socks!  There are two pairs on the go this week – the yellow will be for a friend (and yes, you know who you are!) and the very brightly multi-coloured ones are for me.  The yellow is a silk/wool blend, dyed by me with Greener Shades – I am absolutely LOVING these dyes and I prefer them to anything else I have dyed with so far.  The multi-coloured ball is a commercial yarn called Magic Merino For Socks by Touch Yarns – beautiful yarn, lovely and soft and I can’t wait to finish so I can wear them!


Talking of socks, do you want a pair but can’t really justify a purchase?  What about if it was a donation to a worthy cause?  Then you should head on over to Dust Bunnies & Sequins blog – she is a wonderful person who has organised an auction of various items in order to raise funds for Matjana Preschool in Swaziland.  Amongst the items you will find an auction for Socks – these will be Silk/Wool socks hand dyed and knitted in either a cable, lace or two colour self striping pattern by me.  Please note, it will take about two weeks from the end of auction and confirmation of your payment for the wool to be dyed and then knitted.  So go on, place a bid!


This entry was posted in Fundraiser, Knitting, Socks, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

