Yarn Along

Yet another week to join Ginny in her marvellous Yarn Along posts.  To have a look-see at all the other wonderful posts or to add your own, head on over to Small Things.



Over the last week or so I have spent quite a lot of time reading, sewing, knitting and spinning, with a little bit of blackberry picking thrown in for good measure. At the moment, though, I am knitting yet another pair of socks for a friend’s birthday present.  The pattern is Bois de Rose, it is a lovely lace pattern, the wool is 4ply silk/wool mix and hand dyed by me using Greener Shades, mixing Sunshine Yellow and Amazon Green to get a really bright Lime Green.  Fingers crossed the friend will like the colour!


The books I am currently devouring are “The Selected Journals of L.M. Montgomery Volume II” edited by Mary Rubio & Elizabeth Waterston and “No Idle Hands The Social History of American Knitting” by Anne L. Macdonald.  I am thoroughly enjoying both of these books. Both provide an insight to life as it was, with No Idle Hands constantly leaving me going “how on earth did they do it all?”.  Seriously, I have the luxury of electrical gadgets galore and I still struggle with day to day housekeeping, I just cannot get my head around how these women managed to do everything they had to do just to survive, let alone keep family members, clothes, linen and houses clean and make them homes.


The Montgomery Journals are fascinating too, the way she describes herself as a flirt, her engagement to a Cousin who really would have been a terrible match for her, the great love affair with a young man not at all suitable to be her husband.  I do hope things have changed since then as some of the constraints and snobbery of the era were disheartening.  Still, I am enjoying them immensely.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Victoria says:

    Such lovely socks!

    Both of those books sound like *perfect* gifts for friends of mine – one is an Anne fan and one is my knitting Yoda. Thanks for sharing them (Amazon thanks you, too).

  2. Oh, thanks for the link to the sock pattern – I love the way the shapes of it dovetail together in that feather shape.

  3. Cynthia says:

    The socks are beautiful! “No Idle Hands” sounds really interesting and like a book I have to see if my library carries. Thank you for your review of it. 🙂

    Cynthia @
    brambleberriesintherain.com

  4. Gigi says:

    Oh such pretty socks! Love the green & lovely leafy
    lacy pattern. I read “No Idle Hands ….” not long ago and found it very interesting. Like you, I wonder how in the world women managed back in the day. Have you read “The History of Fair Isle Kniting”? If not, you might like it as well — another interesting peek into the lives of knitting women from long ago.
    Blessings,
    G

  5. Lori ann says:

    i love your socks. i'm sure your friend will love them too, they are wonderful. such a pretty pattern and color!
    thank you for reminding me about that book, no idle hands, i do want to read it too.

Leave a Reply

