Yarn Along

I have greatly admired and been a follower of these posts for ages and so thought I would finally join in with my own.  The idea is to share a photo of your current knitting projects and the book(s) you are reading.  I think it’s a brilliant idea and to find more of these posts or to even do your own post head on over to Small Things.

Yep, cleaning books!  I am trying to motivate myself into a late “Spring Clean” of the house, I kind of stalled after the monster task of my bedroom.  I am rather ashamed to admit that these books are only a small number of the endless cleaning manuals that seem to be handed to me – I think most of them have come as not so subtle hints from Mad Aunts.  My favourites are the Shannon Lush books for best tips and methods and the Mary Murray books for the beauty and sheer frugality of a bygone era.

Sadly NONE of these books have the secret to a perfectly clean house, not matter what you do you have to spend time cleaning and repetitively so!  I guess the only way around it would be to employ a housekeeper.

My knitting projects are pretty simple – a fistful of cotton facecloths being made for a friend, all quite basic but with a few patterns and stitches thrown in to keep them interesting, my little shawl and a pair of socks for my sister with the wool she sent me for Christmas.

So, what is everyone else up to?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. jenletts says:

    Wow! That is quite the pile of cleaning books!

  2. Jarka says:

    good luck with cleaning 🙂

    oh I love hand-knitted socks!
    I'll have to knit a pair for myself (I don't have many “hand-knitted items” lovers around me so I usually only knit for myself ) …

  3. Em says:

    Ooooh, i love cleaning books, especially Home Comforts!

  4. Becky says:

    I have 'My Mother's Ways' but none of the others. I suspect I could use some cleaning books, but I am still mostly in the denial stage with that.

Leave a Reply

