A Practically Perfect Weekend

It started early on the Friday. The morning passed with cooking while the afternoon/evening was filled with laughter, conversation and wonderful companions for Knit Night.  The Lovely Ladies of our little group are truly awe inspiring and beautiful in every way.  Although it has to be said, I didn’t actually get any knitting done!

Saturday was mostly a day of chores.  Like everyone in the district I took advantage of a beautiful winter’s day to restock the wood pile, clean out the chook pen and ignore the fact that my chooks are dirtier now than when they only had their little chook tractor to run in.  They love the freedom of the run as well as the mud when the days turn wet, so who am I to spoil their fun?

I also took an opportunity to photograph the old Backwater Post Office while out visiting and helping out an old friend.  It is a curious little building and something that should be treasured.

Today has been quieter, a bit of a stray day really where there has been nothing that “must be done”, and so I have revelled in it by watching a favourite old movie, The Man From Snowy River, and starting on a cardigan for a certain young lady of my acquaintance.   I am using the original pattern she picked with a few little changes.  Since pooling is a concern I am going to knit it in one piece rather than pieced sections, which is proving to be fun.
The only other thing of note that I have accomplished this weekend is hacking off all my hair. But I decline to share a  photograph of that.  Ah, the joys of winter.
This entry was posted in Curiousities, Friends, Knit Night, Knitting, Weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Practically Perfect Weekend

  1. Becky says:

    Knit night isn't for knitting, it is for laughing and catching up, with eating tossed in for good measure! I only managed a row of my project, but that is fine as it gave me time to eat the extra slice of cheesecake 😉

    I must see the haircut and next knit night seems too far away 😦

  2. Ellie-Mae says:

    Wow, amazing as usual. Your wood heap is beautifully stacked. I love that tiny post office, quirky little buildings have more than their fair share of character. The jumper looks beautiful, someone I know is excited.

Leave a Reply

